Divis Up or Shut Up!

Tonight was my first time doing the monthly Divis Up or Shut Up run put on by Fleet Feet. You run six blocks straight up a hill on Divisadero, turn around on Broadway and head back down. Then turnaround and go back up again, and repeat as many times as you can in 30 minutes. I’ve also been geeking out and exploring my new Garmin Forerunner 110 running watch with heart rate monitor that tracks everything about you.  

The first hill was not bad but that was the only time I ever thought that the rest of the run.  Overall I managed to log 3.5 laps and got them in with under ten seconds to go. I pushed really hard on the last up hill to get that last half lap and on the red chart you can see my heart rate hitting its highest during the run. I felt like my heart could jump out of my mouth at any moment but fortunately that did not happen. Towards the end I was running at 90+% of my max heart rate for 4:30 minutes.

This all makes me realize that what I’ve been doing and calling running is more like leisurely jogging. The total laps are kept on book and accumulate over time. With 5, 10 and 15 laps under your belt you win some pretty cool Nike running shirts. Fleet Feet does a great job hosting this. Brett Lamb the owner stands on Broadway at the top turnaround and tells you you’re doing great as he logs your lap. Then after the run we ran (haha) back to Fleet Feet to properly recover with some Kona Hawaii’an beer on ice.

Divis Up or Shut Up!

Leave a Reply

