My first homemade energy bar

Gu Gel, Gu Chomps, Gu Brew.  Hammer Gels, Hammer Perpetuem, Hammer Heed.  Stinger Gels, Stinger Chews.  And on and on.  There is no shortage of products for pre-, during, and post- endurance activity.  I’ve found the Gu gels to be great during a long run as well as a Bonk Bar for runs over two hours, eating one an hour.  And Nuun tablets in my water for my electrolytes.

But all of that can get old and I can’t imagine eating Gu gels by the handful during every long run I do from here on out.  So I went out on a research mission to see how I can make my own long run food.

My criteria was simple but hard to find an answer for.  I basically wanted something that uses these two ingredients:

  • chia seeds
  • pinole (toasted cornmeal)

I learned about these from reading Born To Run where it talks about how the Tarahumara solely use them during their long jaunts.   Chia seeds are the new quinoa, which is soooo 2006 now.

For whatever reason there were not many recipes using pinole and chia in an energy bar.  Finally I found one and this is the one I tried out.

http://theveganroad.com/recipes/superfood-energy-bars/

Update: I tasted them this morning as I was wrapping them up individually and the taste is spot on.  The dried cherries definitely come through.  I’m taking them on a run this weekend so we’ll see how they do there.

Energy bars
My first homemade energy bar

One thought on “My first homemade energy bar

  1. I’ve been making these and using them for all my marathon and ultra training runs, long bike rides, etc. for about 5 months now with great performances and no issues! I am working on a few others versions of this as well, so keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

